top of page

How to: Take Better Food Pictures

So you're out with your friends at a restaurant or just at home having a Chef Gordon Ramsey moment and you want to photograph your food! I don't know about you ,but when I see beautiful food photos it makes my mouth water. On the other hand when I see photos of food that looks a hot mess I cringe. There's just something about a pretty food photo that makes people happy, oh and hungry, lol. Any way here are 3 quick tips you can use to make your next plate of food look as good as it tastes!

1. Great Lighting

Have a great source of NATURAL light can make such a huge difference in your photos. My Kitchen has horrible lighting so I take my plates next to the window in my living room. Natural light may not always be available so if that is the case just make sure the room is very well lit so that we can see what you're plate is working with.

2. Clean Background

When Talking food photos you wan the main focus to be.... THE FOOD. So remove all the distracting clutter like phones, keys, straws, and tissue. The background should be as clean as possible. Pops of colors and cool textiles like wood or marble always add a great elements of interest to the photo.

3. Presentation

Make your food look pretty! Use different colors and textures. Present the plate as if you were working at a restaurant or something. Some people don't care about how the food looks because I get it, its all going in the same place. But I just feel better about my food when it looks presentable and pretty.

*helpful tip: Take your photos from above and off center.

I hope these tips were helpful and I can't wait to see your new and improved food pics! Use the hashtag #allthingsdadi

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page